South Plaquemines Elementary School

Skip to main content
Common Core Central » Spotlight on Common Core for Parents

Spotlight on Common Core for Parents

What are the Common Core State Standards?

The Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are a coherent progression of learning expectations in English language arts and mathematics designed to prepare K–12 students for college and career success. The CCSS communicate what is expected of students at each grade level, putting students, parents, teachers, and school administrators on the same page, working toward shared goals. While most states already have English language arts and mathematics standards in place, they vary widely from state to state in their coverage and level of rigor.

How were the standards developed?

The CCSS effort was launched in June 2009, through a partnership of the Council of Chief State School Officers and the National Governors Association working together with parents, teachers, school administrators, and experts from across the country. National and international research, evidence, and standards—including standards from countries that are often recognized for high quality education—informed development of the CCSS. After public comment, the final version of the CCSS was released in June 2010.

Would you like to access PARCC practice tests?

• Visit (Click on View Test Preparations)

• There are practice tests for each grade 3-11, including answer keys and rubrics for the ELA assessments.

• Sample items are chunked (3-5, 6-8, High School).

• Students will be taking the Paper Based Assessments


IMPORTANT NOTICE: Once you click on any one of the links in the link section, you will leave this website.  Please note that we are not responsible for any content posted on these websites or the design of these websites.